Make your own free website on


Weblos Badge Requirements
Maps & Directions
Gerald R. Ford Council
The Law of The Pack (CUB SCOUTS)
Scout Handshake, Sign, and, Salute (CUB SCOUTS)
Scout Promise (CUB SCOUS)
Pack 3149
Scout Oath (BOY SCOUTS)
Scout Law (BOY SCOUTS)
Scout Motto (BOY SCOUTS)
Scout Slogan (BOY SCOUTS)
The Scout Sign, Salute, and Handshake (BOY SCOUTS)
Weblos Badge Requirements
Outdoor Code



The Webelos badge is the fifth rank in Cub Scouting (coming after Tiger Cub, Bobcat, Wold, and Bear.) You can start on it as soon as you join a Webelos den, and have earned the Bobcat badge. To earn the Webelos badge you must be active in your den for at least 3 months and complete the requirements. You'll be proud to earn the Webelos rank and receive your badge at a pack meeting.

Details regarding the completion of the requirements and activity Badges can be found in the BSA Webelos Handbook (No. 33452, 2003.)

BSA 33452 2003

One of the differences between Webelos and younger Cub Scouts is that the Webelos Den Leader signs off the completed activities of a Webelos Scout.

Note that two Webelos badges are shown on this page. The first is a diamond-shaped cloth badge that is gold and light blue embroidered on dark blue background with gold trim. It is worn on the left pocket of the blue Cub Scout uniform in the 6 o'clock position, as shown in Insignia Guide. This diamond-shaped patch can still be worn by Webelos that have earned it as part of the four-patch 'diamond.'

The other Webelos badge is an oval-shaped cloth badge, gold and light blue embroidered on khaki background with khaki trim. It is worn centered on the left pocket of the khaki Scout shirt, with no other rank patches, as shown in Insignia Guide.




  1. Have an adult member of your family read the Webelos Scout Parent Guide that comes with this book (Webelos Handbook, Pages 1-22) and sign here.
  2. Be an active member of your Webelos den for 3 months (Active means having good attendance, paying den dues, working on den projects).
  3. Know and explain the meaning of the Webelos badge.
  4. Point out the three special parts of the Webelos Scout uniform. Tell when to wear the uniform and when not to wear it.
  5. Earn the Fitness and Citizen activity badges and one other activity badge from a different activity badge group.
  6. Plan and lead a flag ceremony in your den that includes the U.S. flag.
  7. Show that you know and understand the requirements to be a Boy Scout.
  1. Demonstrate the Scout salute, Scout sign, and Scout handshake. Explain when you would use them.
  2. Explain the Scout Oath, Scout Law, Scout motto, and Scout slogan
  3. Explain and agree to follow the Outdoor Code.

   After completing the rest of requirement 8, do these (a, b,and, c):

  1. Know: Tell what you have learned about faith.
  2. Commit: Tell how these faith experiences help you live your duty to God. Name one faith practice that you will continue to do in the future.
  3. Practice: After doing these requirements, tell what you have learned about your beliefs.

And do one of these (d OR e):

  1. Earn the religious emblem of your faith*
  2. Do two of these:
    • Attend the mosque, church, synagogue, temple, or other religious organization of your choice, talk with your religious leader about your beliefs. Tell your family and your Webelos den leader what you learned.
    • Discuss with your family and Webelos den leader how your religious beliefs fit in with the Scout Oath and Scout Law, and what character-building traits your religious beliefs have in common with the Scout Oath and Scout Law.
    • With your religious leader, discuss and make a plan to do two things you think will help you draw nearer to God. Do these things for a month.
    • For at least a month, pray or meditate reverently each day as taught by your family, and by your church, temple, mosque, synagogue, or religious group.
    • Under the direction of your religious leader, do an act of service for someone else. Talk about your service with your family and Webelos den leader. Tell them how it made you feel.
    • List at least two ways you believe you have lived according to your religious beliefs.


  • If you earned your faith's religious emblem earlier in Cub Scouting, and your faith does not have a Webelos religious emblem, you must complete requirement 8e.
  • Completion of requirement 8e does not qualify a youth to receive the religious emblem of his faith.
  • Religious Emblems are listed in the Webelos Handbook, pages 68-69. (A list of the religious emblems available to Cub Scouts is available on the BSA website.  Click here to see them.)

Enter content here

Enter supporting content here